About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed Kentucky Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your Kentucky Boater Education Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

Officer testing for sobriety
By operating a vessel on Kentucky waters, you have consented to be tested for alcohol or drugs if requested by a law enforcement official. If you refuse to be tested, you will be subject to arrest and punishment consistent with the penalties described above.

Kentucky law establishes the following penalties:

  • Those convicted of boating while intoxicated or under the influence of any substance which impairs his or her driving ability will be subject to a fine of $200 to $250 upon a first conviction.
  • Upon a second conviction, the person will be subject to a fine of $350 to $500.
  • Upon a third or subsequent conviction, a person will be subject to a fine of $600 to $1,000, or imprisonment for at least 30 days, or both a fine and jail time.