The Handbook of Louisiana Boating Laws and Responsibilities
The Official Boating Handbook of the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries - Web Version
Table of Contents
Louisiana law prohibits anyone from operating a vessel of any kind while intoxicated or under the influence of drugs.
A person is considered to be intoxicated if he or she:
- Has a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or greater and is 21 years of age or older or…
- Has a blood alcohol concentration of 0.02% or greater and is under 21 years of age.
The law also prohibits the owner or person in charge of a vessel from knowingly allowing a person who is intoxicated or under the influence of drugs to operate the vessel.
Penalties for operating a vessel of any kind while intoxicated or under the influence of drugs include a fine of up to $1,000, imprisonment up to six months, or both.
By operating a vessel on Louisiana waters, you have consented to be tested for alcohol or drugs if arrested by a law enforcement officer.
Any arrest for DUI while boating will affect your automobile driving privileges.
Persons operating a vehicle or vessel who commit a DUI offense and have their automobile driver’s license suspended or revoked also will have their boating privileges suspended or revoked.