About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed Louisiana Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your Louisiana Boater Education Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

Persons born after January 1, 1984, may not operate a motorboat or personal watercraft (PWC) powered by a motor in excess of 10 horsepower unless he or she has successfully completed a boating safety course approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA).

  • These persons must be in possession of evidence of completion of the approved course whenever operating such a vessel.
  • It is illegal for anyone under the age of 16 years to operate a PWC.
  • It is also unlawful for a person who owns or has charge of a PWC to knowingly permit a person under the age of 16 years to operate the PWC. It is illegal for a rental company to rent a PWC to anyone under 16 years of age.