The Maine Boater Safety Handbook
The Official Boating Handbook of the Maine Department of Natural Resources - Web Version
Table of Contents
Maine law prohibits anyone from operating or attempting to operate a vessel:
- While under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs or a combination of liquor and drugs or …
- While having 0.08% or more by weight of alcohol in his or her blood if 21 years of age or older or …
- While having any amount of alcohol in his or her blood if under 21 years of age.
Anyone operating or attempting to operate a vessel while intoxicated is guilty of a criminal violation. Penalties include a fine, imprisonment, or both a fine and imprisonment.
By operating a vessel on Maine waters, you must complete a blood-alcohol test if requested by a law enforcement officer when:
- The officer has probable cause to believe that you operated or attempted to operate a vessel while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or …
- You were operating a vessel involved in an accident that resulted in the death of a person.