About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed Maryland Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your Maryland Boating Safety Education Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

PWC jumping the wake of a boat within 100 feet of another vessel is prohibited

Personal watercraft operators must obey all boating laws and also must obey additional laws that apply only to PWCs.

  • PWCs may be operated only between sunrise and sunset.
  • There are age and boater education restrictions on operators of personal watercraft.
  • PWCs must be operated in a reasonable and prudent manner. The following activities are not allowed.
    • A PWC may not be operated in a negligent manner. Negligence includes, but is not limited to:
      • Jumping or attempting to jump the wake of another vessel within 100 feet of that vessel
      • Riding backward and/or standing on the seat of the PWC while riding
      • Weaving through and recklessly operating in congested areas
      • Speeding in restricted areas such as marinas, minimum wake zones, and environmentally sensitive areas
      • Operating in a manner that endangers the life, limb, or property of any person, including the operator. Examples are splashing or spraying others, buzzing piers and other boats, and tossing off passengers.
    • A PWC may not be used to chase, harass, or disturb wildlife.