About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed Boat Maryland Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your Maryland Boating Safety Education Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

Maryland law establishes the following penalties for boating under the influence:

  • Upon a first conviction, a fine of up to $1,000, imprisonment for up to one year, or both
  • Upon a second conviction, a fine of up to $2,000, imprisonment for up to two years, or both
  • Upon a third conviction, a fine of up to $3,000, imprisonment for up to three years, or both
BUI Enforcement
By operating a vessel on Maryland waters, you have consented to be tested for alcohol or drugs if requested by a law enforcement officer.