The Handbook of Michigan Boating Laws and Responsibilities
The Official Boating Handbook of the Michigan Department of Natural Resources - Web Version
Table of Contents
All vessels that are 20 feet long or longer or have a permanently affixed engine must be titled also.
As the owner of a vessel, you must notify the Secretary of State and surrender your Certificate of Number within 15 days if:
- Your vessel is abandoned or destroyed or …
- Your vessel is sold or ownership is transferred or …
- You change your address.
If you lose or destroy your Certificate of Number or decal, you must apply to the Secretary of State for a duplicate and submit a processing fee.
Larger recreational vessels owned by U.S. citizens may (at the option of the owner) be documented by the U.S. Coast Guard. Call the USCG at 1-800-799-8362 for more information. Documented vessels are required to be registered also.
Schedule of Fees To Register Your Vessel
Motorboats (all motors including electric motors)
- Less than 12 feet: $14.00
- 12 feet to less than 16 feet: $17.00
- 16 feet to less than 21 feet: $42.00
- 21 feet to less than 28 feet: $115.00
- 28 feet to less than 35 feet: $168.00
- 35 feet to less than 42 feet: $244.00
- 42 feet to less than 50 feet: $280.00
- 50 feet and over: $448.00
- Pontoon vessels – any length: $23.00
- Motorized canoe – any length: $14.00
- Vessels licensed under part 473: $15.00
- Vessels carrying passengers/freight for hire: $45.00
- Non-powered vessels (except nonmotorized canoes or kayaks): $9.00
- Nonmotorized canoes or kayaks: $5.00
- 15-day temporary permit: $10.00
The listed fees are valid as of October 2013, and they are subject to change at any time. To see the most current fees, go to http://www.michigan.gov/dnr/0,1607,7-153-10365_10884-34770--,00.html.