The Handbook of Missouri Boating Laws and Responsibilities
The Official Boating Handbook of the Missouri State Highway Patrol, Water Patrol Division - Web Version
Table of Contents
The steps for transferring ownership of a vessel are essentially the same whether you are purchasing a new or used boat from a dealer or a used boat from an individual.
If a vessel or outboard motor is sold or otherwise transferred to another person:
- The buyer of a used vessel or outboard motor must apply for the registration and title to be transferred to his or her name within 30 days from the date of purchase.
- The buyer of a new vessel or outboard motor must apply for new registration and titling within 30 days.
- The Department of Revenue or an authorized dealer may issue a temporary operating permit, valid for 30 days, to permit lawful operation of the vessel or outboard motor until titling and registration are complete.
Note: A vessel and/or outboard motor must have proper registration in the current owner’s name or a non-expired temporary registration permit on board before it can be used on the water.