The Handbook of Missouri Boating Laws and Responsibilities
The Official Boating Handbook of the Missouri State Highway Patrol, Water Patrol Division - Web Version
Table of Contents
Than 16 Feet
|Boat 16 Feet
|Certificate of Number on Board||✓||✓||✓|
|Validation Decal Displayed||✓||✓||✓|
|Boating Safety Identification Card
and Photo I.D.
|PFDs: Type I, II, III, or V||✓(2)||✓(3)||✓(3)|
|PFD: Type IV||✓|
|Type B-I Fire Extinguisher||✓||✓||✓(4)|
|Engine Cut-Off Switch||✓|
|Horn, Whistle, or Bell||✓|
- All persons born after January 1, 1984, who operate any vessel on the lakes of the state. This includes non-residents of Missouri.
- Those on PWC must wear a PFD at all times.
- Children under the age of seven years must wear a PFD at all times unless confined in a fully enclosed area.
- Two Type B-I fire extinguishers or one Type B-II fire extinguisher is required for vessels 26 feet in length or longer (see "Fire Extinguisher Requirements" for vessels longer than 40 feet and/or with a fixed system).
- Required for display whenever an occupant of the motorboat enters the water if on waters of the Mississippi River, the Missouri River, or Missouri lakes between the hours of 11 a.m. and sunset.