About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed Nevada Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your Nevada Boater Education Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

Nevada law states that these dangerous operating practices are illegal.

Improper Speed or Distance is not maintaining a proper speed or distance while operating a vessel.

PWC riding too close to a boat

Specifically, the following operations are illegal:

  • Operating or allowing others to operate a vessel at greater than “no wake speed” within:
    • 100 feet of a person swimming
    • 100 feet of a person being towed by another vessel
    • 200 feet of a beach used by swimmers; a swimming float, diving platform, or lifeline; or a landing float that has a vessel(s) secured to it or that is being used to load or unload a vessel’s passengers
  • Operating a vessel at greater than “no wake speed” on certain waters designated by the NDOW, within all harbors, and within any other marked speed zones