The Boater's Guide of New Hampshire: A Handbook of Boating Laws and Responsibilities
The Official Boating Handbook of the New Hampshire Marine Patrol - Web Version
Table of Contents
A vessel powered by 25 horsepower or less does not require the operator to have a Safe Boater Education Certificate.
A “ski craft” (see definition) may be operated only by persons who are 16 years old or older and who have a valid Safe Boater Education Certificate.
A vessel powered by more than 25 horsepower (other than a “ski craft”) may be operated by:
- A person under 16 years of age only if he or she is accompanied by a person 18 years old or older who has a valid Safe Boater Education Certificate. The accompanying person is responsible for any injury or damage caused during operation of the vessel.
- A person 16 years of age or older only if he or she has obtained a Safe Boater Education Certificate.
A New Hampshire Safe Boater Education Certificate may be obtained by persons 16 years of age or older only and must be carried on board.
- New Hampshire also accepts the following boating education certificates:
- A boating certificate issued by, and on behalf of, another State agency and NASBLA approved
- A boating certificate issued by the U.S. Power Squadron
- A boating certificate issued by the USCG Auxiliary
- An unexpired commercial boating license issued by the USCG
- An unexpired commercial boating license issued by the State of New Hampshire
- A certificate issued in Canada that has been approved by Transport Canada
- If you wish to operate a motorboat on New Hampshire waters and you do not have any of the above certificates, please visit our website www.boatingeducation.nh.gov, or call us at 1-888-254-2125.
Boater Education Certification...
Is required for all operators of vessels powered by more than 25 horsepower.