The Boater's Guide of New Hampshire: A Handbook of Boating Laws and Responsibilities
The Official Boating Handbook of the New Hampshire Marine Patrol - Web Version
Table of Contents
|Ski Craft*||Canoe, Kayak, or Rowboat||Vessel Under 16 Ft.||Vessel 16 Ft. or Longer|
|Safe Boater Education Certificate on Board||✓ 1||✓ 1||✓ 1|
|Certificate of Registration on Board||✓||✓||✓|
|Validation Decals Displayed||✓||✓||✓|
|Life Jackets: Type I, II, III, or V||✓ 2||✓ 2||✓ 2||✓ 2|
|PFD: Type IV||✓|
|Type B-I Fire Extinguisher||✓||✓||✓|
|Engine Cut-Off Switch||✓|
|Backfire Flame Arrestor||✓||✓ 3||✓ 3|
|Horn, Whistle, or Bell||✓||✓||✓|
|Daytime VDSs||✓ 4|
|Nighttime VDSs||5||✓ 4||✓ 4|
|Navigation Lights||5||✓ 6||✓||✓|
* Vessel less than 13 feet in length that is capable of exceeding 20 miles per hour and has the capacity to carry no more than an operator and one other person.
- Applicable to vessels powered by more than 25 horsepower. See Who May Operate a Vessel for more information.
- The operator of a “ski craft” must wear a life jacket at all times. Children 12 years of age and younger must wear a life jacket at all times while underway on a vessel, unless the vessel is completely enclosed by railings at least three feet high. See Personal Flotation Devices (PFDs).
- Required on inboard engines and inboard/outboard engines.
- Required when boating on federally controlled waters.
- Certain items are not applicable to “ski craft” because they are not allowed to operate between sunset and sunrise.
- Requires only an all-round white light.