About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed New Hampshire Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your New Hampshire Safe Boating Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

New Hampshire law defines a “ski craft” as any motorized vessel that is less than 13 feet in length, is capable of exceeding 20 miles per hour, and has the capacity to carry no more than two persons. This includes PWC designed to seat one or two persons. While the laws below are for “ski craft,” it is recommended that all PWC operators follow these laws.

Lanyard connecting the safety switch to the operator's wrist
  • No one under the age of 16 years may operate a “ski craft” legally on any lake, pond, or river.
  • The operator of a “ski craft” must wear a USCG–approved Type I, II, or III life jacket at all times.
  • Although not legally required, it is strongly recommended that an operator of a PWC equipped with a lanyard-type engine cut-off switch attach the lanyard to his or her person, clothing, or life jacket.