About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed New Hampshire Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your New Hampshire Safe Boating Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

Vessel operators towing a person(s) on water skis, tubes, kneeboards, aquaplanes, or any other devices also must obey these laws.

Boat towing a wakeboarder
  • All persons being towed behind a vessel on water skis or any other device must wear a USCG–approved Type I, II, or III life jacket. Ski belts are not approved life jackets and are illegal.
  • In addition to the operator, an observer must be on board to observe the progress of the person being towed. The observer must be at least 13 years old, able to determine when a skier is in trouble, and able to assist the skier.
  • No more than six persons may be towed on one or more inflatable tubes and no more than two persons may be towed on water skis, aquaplanes, or other devices from the same motorboat at the same time. When three or more persons are being towed, two observers, in addition to the operator, shall be in the towing vessel. Such observers shall be 13 years of age or older.
  • Persons may be towed behind a vessel on water skis or any other device during daylight hours (sunrise to sunset) only.
  • The operator of the towing vessel and the person being towed are responsible for following all other navigation rules and boating laws.
  • When returning to the shore with a skier, the towing vessel and the skier must remain at least 150 feet from shore.