About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed New Hampshire Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your New Hampshire Safe Boating Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

New Hampshire law states that these dangerous operating practices are illegal.

Unlawful Operation: Riding on the Stern

Riding on the bow, gunwale, or transom is allowing passengers to ride on a power-driven vessel in places where there may be a chance of falling overboard while underway. This includes passengers straddling the bow or riding on the gunwales or transom.

Unsafe Wake Crossing is not maintaining contact between a vessel’s hull and the water when crossing a wake. It is illegal for a vessel to become airborne when crossing the wake of another vessel or its own wake.

Overloading is loading the vessel with gear or passengers beyond its safe carrying capacity, taking into consideration weather and other operating conditions.

Speeding is exceeding speed limits or operating at a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent, taking into consideration weather and other operating conditions.

  • On Lake Winnipesaukee (located in Belknap and Carroll counties), the speed limits are:
    • 30 miles per hour maximum between one-half hour after sunset and one-half hour before sunrise
    • 45 miles per hour maximum at all other times
  • On Squam Lakes (located in Belknap, Carroll, and Grafton counties), the speed limits are:
    • 20 miles per hour maximum between one-half hour after sunset and one-half hour before sunrise
    • 40 miles per hour maximum at all other times
  • For more details on other speed limit restrictions, call the Marine Patrol at 1-877-642-9700.

“Ski craft” (motorized vessels less than 13 feet long that are capable of exceeding 20 miles per hour and with capacity to carry no more than two persons) have additional regulations they must follow (see Requirements Specific to Ski Craft).