About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed New Jersey Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your New Jersey Boat Safety Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

New Jersey law designates the following dangerous operating practices as illegal.

PWC riding too close to a boat

Improper Speed or Distance is not maintaining a proper speed and/or distance while operating a vessel. Specifically, the following operations are illegal:

  • Operating a vessel at a distance from other vessels or at a speed that exceeds safe and reasonable limits given the waterway traffic, marked speed limits, weather, and other boating conditions
  • Causing damage or injury from the wake of your vessel
  • Operating any power vessel in a marked slow speed/no wake area at greater than “no wake” speed; power vessels also may not be on plane in such a marked area.
  • Exceeding slow speed/no wake when passing:
    • Vessels not under command such as anchored vessels
    • Work barges or floats that are engaged in construction
    • Emergency vessels (displaying flashing lights)
    • Within 200 feet of a marina, pier, dock, or wharf
    • Through bridge openings of 400 feet or less in width
    • Through lagoons, canals, or confined areas less than 200 feet in width