About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed New Jersey Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your New Jersey Boat Safety Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

Officer testing for sobriety
By boating on New Jersey waters, vessel operators have given consent ("implied consent") to an alcohol and/or drug test.

Those convicted of operating under the influence (OUI) are subject to the following penalties.

  • If the person had a BAC of 0.08% or more but less than 0.10%, the person may receive a fine of up to $400, loss of boating privileges for a year, and loss of their vehicle driver’s license for three months.
  • If the person had a BAC of 0.10% or more or was under the influence of drugs, the person may receive a fine of up to $500, loss of boating privileges for a year, and loss of their vehicle driver’s license for 7 to 12 months.
  • More serious penalties exist for multiple convictions, including jail time and loss of boating privileges and vehicle driver’s license for up to 10 years.