About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed New Jersey Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your New Jersey Boat Safety Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

Boating Accident Report Form

Both operators are required to file a full description of the accident with the New Jersey State Police, Marine Law Enforcement station in the area where the accident occurred if the accident involves:

  • Death or disappearance of a person or…
  • Injury to a person or…
  • Property damage of more than $2,000.

A boating accident that results in the death or disappearance of a person must be reported immediately. All other boating accidents that result in personal injury or more than $2,000 in property damage must be reported within 10 days.