About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed New Mexico Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your New Mexico Boater Education Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

Officer testing for sobriety

New Mexico law establishes the following penalties for BWI.

  • A first conviction carries a fine of up to $500, jail time for up to 90 days, or both. In addition, those convicted must take an approved boating safety course.
  • Second or subsequent convictions carry a fine of up to $750, jail time for up to 364 days, or both.
  • Convictions for aggravated boating while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs carry additional penalties.