About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed North Carolina Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your North Carolina Boater Education Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

Failure to regulate speed is defined as operating a vessel at speeds that may cause danger, injury, damage, or unnecessary inconvenience. In North Carolina, speed regulations can vary depending on local conditions. Be aware of and obey all regulatory markers, including those marked as “no wake speed” or “idle speed” These other speed laws also apply to you.

  • Operators must slow to idle speed when entering, leaving, or passing within 50 yards of a state-owned or state-controlled boating or fishing access area.
  • Vessel operators are responsible for any damage caused by their wake.
  • You must operate at “no wake speed” or “idle speed” when you are within 100 feet of an enforcement vessel displaying a flashing blue light. If the enforcement vessel is in a narrow channel, you must reduce your speed to “no wake speed” or “idle speed” within only 50 feet of the vessel.