About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed North Carolina Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your North Carolina Boater Education Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

A person younger than 14 years old may not operate a PWC legally.

A person 14 or 15 years old may operate a PWC only if:

  • He or she is accompanied on board the PWC by a person who is at least 18 years old and who is in compliance with the requirements for operating a vessel (see Who May Operate a Vessel) or…
  • He or she has on his or her person identification showing proof of age and a boater education certification card showing proof of passing a boating safety course approved by NASBLA and accepted by the Wildlife Resources Commission or…
  • He or she has on his or her person identification showing proof of age and proof of other boating safety education in compliance with state laws (G.S. 75A-16.2).

Anyone 16 years old or older and born on or after January 1, 1988, may operate a PWC with a motor of 10 horsepower or greater only if he or she is in compliance with the requirements for operating a vessel (see Who May Operate a Vessel).

It is unlawful for the owner of a PWC to knowingly allow a person under the age of 16 to operate a PWC unless they meet the above requirements.

It is unlawful for a person who has temporary or permanent responsibility for a person under the age of 16 to knowingly allow that person to operate a PWC unless they meet the above requirements.

A PWC livery (rental agency) must give instructions on safe PWC operation before allowing anyone to operate a leased PWC.