Official Ohio Boating Safety Course

Take this Ohio–approved course to complete your online boating safety education.

Ohio Boating safety education card Lifetime Card

Do you need Ohio Boating education?

You need education if you were born on or after Jan. 1, 1982, and will be operating a boat or PWC over 10 hp or more in Ohio.

Get Boating certified in 3 steps.

  1. Study and pass the $29.50 online course.

  2. Print your online course completion document.

  3. Get ready to go boating!

Ohio Boating Education Requirements

Anyone under the age of 12 years may not operate a personal watercraft (PWC). Anyone between the ages of 12 and 15 years may legally operate a PWC only if he or she has successfully completed a boater education course and is directly under the supervision of a person 18 years or older. Anyone 16 years of age or older may operate a PWC if he or she has successfully completed a boater education course.

Ohio Department of Natural Resources, Division of Watercraft Requirements

There is no minimum age requirement to take this online course.

You do not have to be a resident of Ohio to take this online course.

Learn More

What to Expect From Boat Ed

Live‐Action, High‐Definition Videos

Our course videos feature a combination of professional educators (who double as professional actors), entertaining storylines, and up‐to‐date scenarios that give you one of the most effective ways to learn safe boating practices.


Watch this 54-second sample to see how we put you in the driver’s seat.

Comprehensive Instruction in Ohio Boating Safety Education

This official training program is developed to meet the standards for Boating safety education established by Ohio. Boat Ed is the only safety course provider that develops print materials on behalf of government agencies responsible for Boating laws and regulations.

Learn Your Way on Any Device

Boat Ed offers online courses that are fully mobile-friendly from start to finish. This safety course is designed to work on your smartphone, tablet, laptop, or desktop computer.

Saved Progress

You may complete the course at your own pace. The course can be completed in one sitting or a little at a time over several days. Log in and out at any time, and we'll keep track of your progress. Most students finish the course in a few hours.

We’re people, not robots.

Our customer service team, made up of real people with real Boat Ed experience, is here to provide assistance through all channels—phone, email, and chat.

8:30 a.m. to midnight CST Monday–Friday

8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. CST Saturday & Sunday

Get help seven days a week from professionals like Bill, Diana, Heidi, Laura, Lilibeth, Liz, Marc, Nichole, and Thomas.

1-800-830-2268 toll-free



Members of the Kalkomey Support Team

Ohio Approved

Ohio Department of Natural Resources, Division of Watercraft logo

Ohio Department of Natural Resources, Division of Watercraft
2045 Morse Road Building C
Columbus, OH 43229

Made in the U.S.A.

This safety course is proudly made to serve students, agencies, and organizations worldwide.

Is it the Boating safety license?

Boating safety education certification is not the same thing as a Boating license. What you really need is the Ohio Boater Education Certificate. You can get the Ohio Boater Education Certificate by taking this boat safety course at Find out if you need the card.

Did you lose your card? Replace it here.

Get Started →

Need help? Here are the answers to the questions Ohio Boating students most frequently ask.

Frequently Asked Questions