Other Facts About Titling and Registering Your Boat
Titling of vessels is mandatory in Oklahoma. You must apply for a title within 30 days of the purchase or transfer of a vessel. You may operate your vessel within the first 30 days of ownership, prior to applying for your title and registration, if you carry on board the original bill of sale for your vessel.
A vessel owner chooses to have their vessel registered for a one-year or a three-year period. Registration expires on June 30 of the year indicated on the validation decals. Renewal notices are mailed to all owners of registered vessels before their date of expiration. You may renew the registration by mail or in person at a motor license agent or Oklahoma Tax Commission (OTC) office.
If you lose or destroy your Certificate of Registration or decal, you must apply to the OTC for a duplicate and submit a processing fee.
Larger recreational vessels owned by U.S. citizens, may (at the option of the owner) be documented by the U.S. Coast Guard. Call the USCG at 1-800-799-8362 for more information.
- Documented vessels must comply with the laws of the state of Oklahoma.
- Documented vessels using Oklahoma waters in excess of 60 days must be registered in Oklahoma and display current Oklahoma validation decals on each side of the bow as high above the water line as practical.
- Documented vessels are required to display the vessel’s name, hailing port, and federal documentation number according to federal law, rules, and regulations.
- The current Certificate of Registration must be carried on board the vessel.
New Information for Canoes and Kayaks
Beginning on July 1, 2013, certain vessels that are manually propelled and do not have a motor are not required to be registered or titled and are exempt from paying the vessel excise tax. This includes canoes, kayaks, and other similar vessels as well as paddleboats.