Buying and Selling a Vessel
The procedure for transferring ownership of a vessel is outlined here. The steps are essentially the same whether the “seller” is a marine dealer or the “buyer” is an individual purchasing a pre-owned vessel from an individual “seller.”
If an Oregon-registered vessel is sold or otherwise transferred to another person, the new owner(s) must apply to the Oregon State Marine Board online, via mail, or at a Boat Registration Agent for title and registration (as needed), within 30 days from the date of purchase. An image of the original Certificate of Title for a Boat must be uploaded when applying online, followed by the original being mailed to the Marine Board. Application by mail or via a Boat Registration Agent requires the original Certificate of Title for a Boat to be surrendered.
- Applications submitted more than 30 days from the date of purchase are assessed a $25 late penalty fee.
- If the Oregon title is lost, a completed Lost Boat Title Application may be submitted. Contact the Marine Board for assistance for other situations.