About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed Pennsylvania Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your Pennsylvania Boating Safety Education Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

Pennsylvania law prohibits anyone from boating while under the influence (BUI). That is, you may not operate a vessel while you are intoxicated due to alcohol or any combination of alcohol, controlled substances, or drugs. Alcohol and drugs cause impaired balance, blurred vision, poor coordination, impaired judgment, and slower reaction times. Alcohol is a major contributor to boating accidents and fatalities.

Pennsylvania law limits the consumption of alcohol as follows.

  • Alcoholic beverages are prohibited on land and water at all state parks and at most U.S. Army Corps of Engineers projects.
  • A person is considered to be over the legal limit if he or she has a blood alcohol concentration of:
    • 0.08% and is 21 years of age or older or…
    • 0.02% and is under 21 years of age.
Don't drink and boat!
The best thing you can do for your safety and the safety of your passengers and other boaters is simple— Don't drink and boat!