The Handbook of Rhode Island Boating Laws and Responsibilities
The Official Boating Handbook of the Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management/Environmental Police - Web Version
Table of Contents
|PWC||Boat Less Than 16 Ft.||Boat 16 Ft. to Less Than 26 Ft.|
|Boater Education Certificate on Board||✓1||✓1||✓1|
|Certificate of Number on Board||✓||✓||✓|
|Validation Decals Displayed||✓||✓||✓|
|"No Discharge" Cert. Decal Displayed||✓2||✓2|
|PFDs: Type I, II, III, or V||✓3||✓4||✓4|
|PFD: Type IV||✓|
|Type B-I Fire Extinguisher||✓||✓||✓|
|Engine Cut-Off Switch||✓|
|Backfire Flame Arrestor||✓||✓5||✓5|
|Horn, Whistle, or Bell||✓||✓||✓|
- Required for all PWC operators and for those born on or after January 1, 1986, operating a vessel powered by a motor of more than 10 horsepower.
- All vessels with a permanently installed marine toilet must be inspected and display a decal.
- Those on PWC must wear a PFD at all times.
- Children under 13 years of age must wear a USCG–approved PFD while underway in a recreational vessel less than 65 feet in length unless below deck or in an enclosed cabin.
- Required on inboard and stern drives only.
- Not applicable since PWC may not operate at night.