About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the Rhode Island Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your Rhode Island Certificate of Boating Safety Education.

Learn More Register for the Course

Vessel operators or owners whose vessel is involved in an accident or casualty must report the incident immediately to the Department of Environmental Management or to a nearby state or local police office if the incident results in:

  • Death or disappearance of a person or …
  • Injury to a person or …
  • Property damage or loss exceeding $2,000.

Vessel owners whose vessel is involved in an accident or casualty exceeding $2,000 must make written reports of damages or losses within five days of the incident. Report forms are available by contacting DEM’s Division of Law Enforcement Office at 401-222-2284 or on the Internet at www.dem.ri.gov/programs/bnatres/enforce/pdfs/boatacc.pdf.

Vessel operators who cause serious bodily injury to another person due to reckless operation will be charged with “operating so as to endanger, resulting in personal injury” and, if convicted, be imprisoned for up to five years.

Vessel operators who cause the death of another person due to reckless operation will be charged with “operating so as to endanger, resulting in death” and, if convicted, be imprisoned for up to ten years.

Rhode Island Accident Report Form