The Handbook of South Carolina Boating Laws and Responsibilities
The Official Boating Handbook of the South Carolina Department of Natural Resources - Web Version
Table of Contents
All vessels must be titled. The only exceptions are vessels documented by the U.S. Coast Guard, rowboats, paddleboats, and sailboards.
All outboard motors of five horsepower or greater must also be titled.
- You will be issued a motor title decal which must be displayed on the starboard side of the motor cover.
A Certificate of Number is valid for three years.
- You can renew your registration on the SCDNR website, by mail, or in person (see Where to Title and Register).
- Failure to renew within 30 days of the expiration date will result in a penalty.
If you change your address, you must call or write the South Carolina Department of Natural Resources (SCDNR) within 30 days (see Where to Title and Register).
If you destroy your vessel or motor, you must report it to the SCDNR within 10 days and surrender your Certificate of Number and title.
If you lose or destroy your Certificate of Number, title, or decal, you must apply to the SCDNR for a duplicate and submit a processing fee.
To purchase a duplicate Certificate of Number or decal, you can visit the SCDNR website or you can submit the application and fee by mail or in person.
To obtain a duplicate title, you must submit the application and fee by mail or in person.
Vessels that are currently registered in another state may operate on South Carolina waters for 60 days before South Carolina registration and numbering are required.