The Handbook of South Carolina Boating Laws and Responsibilities
The Official Boating Handbook of the South Carolina Department of Natural Resources - Web Version
Table of Contents
South Carolina law prohibits anyone from operating a moving motorized vessel or vessel under sail on the waters of the state while under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or a combination thereof.
Penalties include a fine of up to $6,000 and up to three years imprisonment. In addition, a person’s privilege to operate any vessel may be suspended for up to two years. Enrollment in, and successful completion of, an Alcohol and Drug Safety Action course and a South Carolina boating safety course also are required at the person’s expense.
Felony BUI (boating under the influence) carries penalties of up to a $25,000 fine and 25 years imprisonment.
A person who operates a vessel is considered to have given consent (“implied consent”) to a chemical test or analysis of his or her breath, blood, or urine.
Just remember this simple rule: Don’t Drink and Boat!