The Handbook of South Carolina Boating Laws and Responsibilities
The Official Boating Handbook of the South Carolina Department of Natural Resources - Web Version
Table of Contents
Each person riding on a PWC must wear a U.S. Coast Guard–approved Type I, II, III, or V personal flotation device.
PWCs must be equipped with a fully operational self-circling device or a lanyard-type engine cut-off switch. If the engine cut-off switch is used, the lanyard must be attached to the person or PFD of the operator.
It is illegal to:
- Operate a PWC between sunset and sunrise.
- Operate a PWC at greater than idle speed if within 50 feet of a non-moving boat, a dock or pier, a bridge, or a person in the water.
- Jump the wake of another boat unnecessarily close to the other boat or when visibility around the other boat is restricted.
- Operate a PWC so that it leaves the water (jumps) within 200 feet of a boat whose wake it is crossing.
- Operate a PWC in excess of idle speed within 100 yards of the Atlantic coastline.
- Chase, harass, or disturb wildlife.
Remember that as an owner of a PWC, it is illegal for you to allow anyone else to operate your PWC in such a way that it violates the laws of South Carolina.