About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed South Dakota Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your South Dakota Boater Education Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

Motorboats

No person under 12 years of age may operate a motorboat propelled by a motor of more than 6 horsepower unless there is a person 18 years of age or older on board the motorboat.

Personal Watercraft

No person under the age of 14 may operate a personal watercraft, regardless of horsepower, unless there is a person 18 years of age or older on board the PWC. An exception to this law may be made in the case of an emergency.

Boating Safety Education Certificate

South Dakota Boating Safety Education Certificate
Though not required, every boater should complete a boating safety education course. Persons completing an approved course will be issued a certificate by the South Dakota Department of Game, Fish & Parks.