About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed Tennessee Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your Tennessee Boater Education Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

Tennessee law states that it is unlawful to operate a watercraft in a reckless, negligent, or dangerous manner. Violations are punishable by a fine of up to $2,500 and up to six months in jail. Specifically, the following operating practices are illegal.

PWC riding too close to a boat

Improper Speed or Distance is not maintaining a proper speed and distance while operating a vessel. Specifically, it is illegal to:

  • Operate at an excessive rate of speed in crowded or dangerous areas or during periods of restricted visibility.
  • Operate a vessel at greater than “slow, no wake speed” in any areas marked as “No Wake.”
  • Operate within 300 feet of a commercial vessel dock at greater than “idle speeds.”
  • Jump the wake of another vessel within 100 feet of that vessel.