Table of Contents

Download the PDF Version

It's the Law

Buying and Selling a Vessel


The procedure for buying or selling a new or pre-owned vessel or motor is outlined here.

  • The seller completes the appropriate application forms.
    • Form 143, the blue-striped form, is used to buy or sell a new or used vessel.
    • Form 144, the green-striped form, is used to buy or sell an outboard motor.
  • Forms 143 and 144 can be obtained:
  • The buyer reviews and signs the form(s), and the seller assigns the title(s) to the buyer (if titles have been issued).
  • This procedure must be completed no later than 20 days from date of purchase in order to avoid a penalty. The following items are submitted to TPWD.
    • Completed and signed Forms 143 and 144.
    • Assigned titles, bill of sale, or proof of registration (supporting documents, Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin, also known as an MSO, titles, etc.).
    • All required state fees and sales tax (listed on back of the forms). Note: Fees are based on the size of your vessel, so know the length before selling or buying a vessel.
  • TPWD will send to the buyer a new title and Certificate of Number in the buyer’s name.

Schedule of Fees

Texas Certificate of Number (Registration) Fees Fee
Motorboat, sailboat, or livery boat less than 16 ft. $32.00
Motorboat, sailboat, or livery boat 16 ft. to less than 26 ft. $53.00
Motorboat, sailboat, or livery boat 26 ft. to less than 40 ft. $110.00
Motorboat, sailboat, or livery boat 40 ft. and over $150.00
Texas Certificate of Title Fees Fee
Original, transfer of, or duplicate title (ea.) $27.00
Correction (return present title to TPWD) $27.00
“Quick” Title (in addition to above fees) $64.00