It's the Law

Accidents and Casualties


An operator involved in a boating accident must:

  • Stop his or her vessel immediately at the scene and…
  • Assist anyone injured in the accident or minimize any danger caused by the accident, unless doing so would seriously endanger his or her vessel or passengers and…
  • Give his or her name, address, and identifying number of his or her vessel in writing to anyone injured from the accident and to the owner of any damaged property.

The operator also must file an accident report with the Vermont DMV within 36 hours of the accident if:

  • A person dies or disappears or…
  • A person is injured requiring treatment beyond first aid or…
  • Damage to the vessel and other property exceeds $100.

Accident report forms are available from any office of the Vermont DMV or any office of the Vermont State Police.

Vermont Accident Report
Vermont Accident Report