About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed Vermont Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your Vermont Boating Safety Education Certification Card.

Learn More Register for the Course

Vermont law has special provisions for operators under 21 years of age.

  • It is unlawful for a person under 21 years of age who has a blood alcohol concentration of 0.02% or more to operate a vessel.
  • For a first violation, the offender loses the privilege to operate any vessel (except for a non-motorized canoe or rowboat) for at least six months and must successfully complete an alcohol program at the person’s own expense.
  • For subsequent violations, the privilege to operate a vessel will be lost for one year or until the person reaches 21 years of age, whichever is longer.
  • A person under 21 years of age who refuses to submit to a breath test after a warning will be subject to the same penalties as those for boating while intoxicated.