About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed Vermont Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your Vermont Boating Safety Education Certification Card.

Learn More Register for the Course

BWI enforcement

Vermont law establishes the following penalties for BWI.

  • Upon a first conviction of boating while intoxicated, offenders:
    • Lose the privilege to operate any vessel (except for a non-motorized canoe or rowboat) for up to one year and …
    • Must successfully complete an alcohol program at the person’s own expense and …
    • Are fined up to $750.
  • Upon subsequent convictions, the fine is increased up to $1,000.
  • A person boating while intoxicated who causes the death of another person will, upon conviction, be imprisoned for up to five years, fined up to $2,000, or both imprisoned and fined.