About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed Boat Vermont Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your Vermont Boating Safety Education Certification Card.

Learn More Register for the Course

Vessel operators towing a person(s) on water skis, aquaplanes, kite skis, surfboards, inner tubes, or any similar devices must obey these laws also.

  • All persons being towed behind a vessel on water skis or any other device must wear a U.S. Coast Guard–approved Type I, II, or III personal flotation device (life jacket). Ski belts are not approved personal flotation devices.
  • Every vessel towing a person(s) on water skis or any other device must have a person who is at least 12 years old on board, in addition to the vessel operator, in a position to observe the towed person(s).
  • A reasonable distance from other vessels, people, and property must be maintained so as not to endanger life or property. Unless necessary for landing or leaving shore, it is illegal to cause the towed device or the person being towed to approach within 100 feet of:
    • A person swimming.
    • A canoe, rowboat, or other small vessel with a person on board.
  • Some areas less than 200 feet from the shoreline of a waterbody may be designated for water-skiing. These areas may have special rules governing their use.
PWC towing wakeboarder with observer
If towing a skier with a personal watercraft, the PWC should be rated for at least three people—the operator, the observer and the skier.