About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed Virginia Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your Virginia Boater Education Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

A written report must be made:

  • Within 48 hours of the occurrence if a person dies within 24 hours of the occurrence or if a person is unable to perform normal or usual activities or if a person disappears from a vessel or...
  • Within 10 days of the occurrence or death if an earlier report is not required.

When the operator of a vessel cannot submit the written report required by this section, the owner must submit the required report.