Official Washington Boating Safety Course

Take this Washington–approved course to complete your online Boating safety education.

Washington Boating safety education card Lifetime Card

Get Boating certified in 3 steps.

  1. Study and pass the $29.50 course, and pay a $10.50 state fee.

  2. Print your online course completion document.

  3. Get ready to go boating!

Do you need Washington Boating education?

You need education if you are operating a powered watercraft of 15 hp or more in Washington.

Washington State Parks Requirements

You must be at least 12 years old to take this online course.

You do not have to be a resident of Washington to take this online course.

What To Expect From Boat Ed

Live‐Action, High‐Definition Videos

Our course videos feature a combination of professional educators (who double as professional actors), entertaining storylines, and up‐to‐date scenarios that give you one of the most effective ways to learn safe boating practices.

 

Watch this 54-second sample to see how we put you in the driver’s seat.

Made by Boaters, for Boaters

Boat Ed has a TrustPilot rating of 9.1 out of 10 based on 213 ratings and reviews.

Comprehensive Instruction in Washington Boating Safety Education

This official training program is developed to meet the standards for Boating safety education established by Washington. Boat Ed is the only safety course provider that develops print materials on behalf of government agencies responsible for Boating laws and regulations.

Washington State Parks logo

State-Approved Content

As a course provider approved by the Washington State Parks, the Boat Washington covers everything a new boater may need to know in order to be safe in Washington while boating.

Sign Up For Free →

Learn Your Way on Any Device

Boat Ed offers the only online Boating education courses that are fully mobile-friendly from start to finish. This safety course is designed to work on your smartphone, tablet, laptop, or desktop computer.

Saved Progress

You may complete the course at your own pace. The course can be completed in one sitting or a little at a time over several days. Log in and out at any time, and we'll keep track of your progress. Most students finish the course in a few hours.

We’re people, not robots.

Our customer service team, made up of real people with real Boat Ed experience, is here to provide assistance through all channels—phone, email, and chat.

8:30 a.m. to midnight CST Monday–Friday

8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. CST Saturday & Sunday

Get help seven days a week from professionals like Bill, Diana, Heidi, Laura, Lilibeth, Liz, Marc, Nichole, and Thomas.

1-800-830-2268 toll-free

or

214-351-0461

Email Boat Ed Support

Members of the Kalkomey Support Team

Washington Approved

Washington State Parks logo

Washington State Parks
PO Box 42650
Olympia, WA 98504
360-902-8555

Made in the U.S.A.

This safety course is proudly made in Dallas, Texas, U.S.A., and our servers and data storage facilities are located within the U.S.A.

Washington Boating License FAQs

The boater education certificate in Washington is often called a “boating license.” While the certificate is often called a Washington boating license, the certification does not expire and does not need to be renewed.

How old do you have to be to get a boating license in Washington?

Washington boating laws require all boaters operating a vessel greater than 15 hp to obtain the Washington State Boater Card. This card is sometimes called the “Washington boating license.” You must be at least 12 years old to take a boater safety course.

Persons age 14 and older may operate a PWC, also known as a Jet Ski, if they have a Washington Boater Education Card.

Sign Up For Free →

Need help? Here are the answers to the questions Washington Boating students most frequently ask.

Frequently Asked Questions