About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed Washington Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your Washington Boater Education Card.

Learn More Register for the Course

Washington's boater education law took effect in 2008.

A man giving PWC instruction to a young girl
  • Persons under 12 years of age may not operate a power-driven vessel with an engine that is 15 horsepower or more.
  • Persons 12 years of age or older may operate a power-driven vessel with an engine that is 15 horsepower or more if they have a Boater Education Card.
  • Persons 14 years of age or older may operate a personal watercraft (PWC) if they have a Boater Education Card.