About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed Washington Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your Washington Boater Education Card.

Learn More Register for the Course

Washington Boater Education Card
Persons required to have a Boater Education Card must carry it on board whenever operating. Marine law enforcement officers are trained to enforce the Boater Education Card requirement and will issue a citation to boat operators who do not have their card. The fine for the first offense is $87.

All boaters, unless exempt, must have a Washington Boater Education Card. For additional information about obtaining a Boater Education Card, including a complete list of exemptions, visit www.boatered.org.

  • Before operating a vessel powered by 15 horsepower or more, all boaters 12 years of age or older and born on or after January 1, 1955, must:
    • Pass an approved boating safety education course or equivalency exam and …
    • Obtain a Boater Education Card.

Replacing a Lost or Stolen Card

If your Boater Education Card is lost, damaged, or stolen, a replacement card is available for $5.00. To get your replacement card, visit www.boatered.org and follow the instructions for “Replacing a Boater Education Card.”