About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed Washington Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your Washington Boater Education Card.

Learn More Register for the Course

Washington law establishes the following penalties for boat operation under the influence (BUI).

Officer testing for sobriety
  • A person convicted of BUI may be imprisoned for up to 364 days, be fined up to $5,000, or be penalized with both imprisonment and a fine. In addition, the court may order the defendant to pay restitution for any damages or injuries resulting from the offense.
  • Officers with probable cause can ask the boat operator to submit to a breath test. For probable cause, officers often use operating violations for wake and for speed exceeding the posted limits.
    • If the operator refuses to take the breath test, the total fine could be up to $2,050.
    • An operator’s refusal cannot be used as evidence in a subsequent criminal trial.
  • If someone dies or is seriously injured as the result of another person boating while intoxicated, the convicted person also may be charged with a felony, punishable by imprisonment in a state correctional institution and a substantial fine.