About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed West Virginia Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your West Virginia Boater Education Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

West Virginia law requires that skin divers and scuba divers display a diver-down flag to mark their diving area. Divers must stay within a 100-foot radius of the flag. Motorized vessels must remain at least 100 feet away from the flag. Two types of flags are used to indicate diving activity.

Divers Flag

Divers Flag
A rectangular red flag, at least 10 inches on any side, with at least a 1½-inch, white diagonal stripe running from upper left to lower right is required on state waters.

Alfa Flag

Alfa Flag
A blue and white International Code Flag A (or Alfa flag), at least 3.3 feet (one meter) high and visible from all directions, must be displayed on vessels whenever these vessels are restricted in their ability to maneuver by the diving operation. This flag indicates that the vessel is involved in a diving activity.

Scuba divers and snorkelers should not place a flag in an area already occupied by other boaters or where their diving operation will impede the normal flow of waterway traffic. Divers also should follow all of the water safety rules themselves.