About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed West Virginia Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your West Virginia Boater Education Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

West Virginia law designates the following dangerous operating practices as being illegal.

PWC riding too close to a boat

Improper Speed or Distance is not maintaining a proper speed or distance while operating a motorboat or PWC or while towing a person on water skis or similar devices. Specifically, it is illegal to:

  • Operate at any speed, or knowingly permit another person to operate at any speed, that does not allow the operator to bring the vessel to a stop within the clear distance ahead using reasonable care.
  • Operate at any speed greater than the limits established and properly marked on the waters of a government-owned reservoir or any other waters of West Virginia.
  • Operate at greater than "no wake speed" in a posted "no wake speed" zone.
  • Operate within 20 feet of a person fishing without first obtaining permission from that person.
  • Operate within 20 feet of the outer boundary of a swimming area that is clearly marked by red-and-yellow buoys.
  • Operate within 20 feet of the outer boundary of an area that is clearly marked by signs or buoys as a restricted area.