About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed West Virginia Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your West Virginia Boater Education Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

Officer testing for sobriety
By operating a vessel on West Virginia waters, you have consented to be tested for alcohol or drugs if requested by a law enforcement official. If you refuse, you will be subject to arrest and punishment consistent with state law.

West Virginia law establishes these penalties for operating under the influence.

  • Upon a first conviction, the operator may be imprisoned for up to 6 months and fined up to $500.
  • If the operator is less than 21 years of age and has an alcohol concentration in his or her blood of 0.02% or more but less than 0.08% by weight, the operator is guilty of a misdemeanor.
  • If the operator has a person less than the age of 16 years old on board, the operator is guilty of a misdemeanor.
  • If the operator recklessly causes the death of someone, upon conviction the operator will be imprisoned for 1-10 years and fined $1,000-$3,000.

It is illegal to knowingly permit your motorized vessel to be operated by someone who is under the influence.