About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed West Virginia Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your West Virginia Boater Education Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

Teenager being instructed in how to operate a boat

The law also establishes special requirements for younger boaters.

Those 12 through 14 years of age: In addition to the boating safety education requirement, these boaters may operate a motorboat or personal watercraft (PWC) only if:

  • A person 18 years of age or older is also on board the vessel or...
  • The vessel's motor is 10 horsepower or less.

Any person who is required to complete a boating safety education course must carry the course completion certificate on board the vessel.

No person, including a parent or the owner of a vessel, may authorize or knowingly permit another person who does not meet the requirements above to operate a motorized vessel.