About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed Wisconsin Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your Wisconsin Boating Safety Education Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

A vessel operator is required to make a verbal and written report whenever a boating accident results in:

  • Loss of life or disappearance of a person or...
  • Injury to any person or...
  • Property damage in excess of $2,000.

Verbal reports must be made immediately to a DNR conservation warden or a local law enforcement officer.

A written report must be made within 10 days on Department of Natural Resources Form 4100-20 to DNR Boating Section, P.O. Box 7921, Madison, WI 53707.

Operator Boating Incident Report form
The Operator Boating Incident Report form (Form 4100-20) is available from the boat crash information page on the Wisconsin DNR website.