Written Report of the Accident
A vessel operator involved in a boating accident must report the accident immediately to any Wyoming law enforcement agency or peace officer if the accident caused:
- Death of a person or an injury to any person that requires medical attention beyond first aid or…
- Disappearance of any person under circumstances that indicate the possibility of death or injury or…
- Damage to the vessel(s) or other property exceeding $500.
If the operator of the vessel is not able to report the accident, another adult on board the vessel at the time of the accident may report it.
Accidents also must be reported in writing within 10 days, using a boating accident report form. These forms are available from the law enforcement agency or peace officer who investigates the accident or online from the Wyoming Game & Fish Department.