Nevada Boating Laws and Regulations
Do you need Nevada Boating education?
You need education if you were born on or after Jan. 1, 1983, and will be operating a vessel over 15 hp in Nevada.
There is no minimum age requirement to take this online course.
You do not have to be a resident of Nevada to take this online course.
Boating education is currently required in several U.S. states and Canadian provinces.
Age and Operator Restrictions
A person operating a personal watercraft (PWC) must be at least 14 years of age.
Additionally, a person operating a vessel that is towing a person on water skis, a surfboard, or any other device must be:
- At least 16 years of age or…
- At least 14 years of age and have on board a person at least 18 years of age in a position to supervise the operator.
Nevada law enforcement officers patrol the waterways to make your boating experience safe and pleasant. Cooperate with them by following the laws and guidelines.
Carry the Card: Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Education Card must carry the card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by an enforcement officer.
Penalty: Not carrying your Boater Education Card when one is required can result in a fine.
Is the Boating Card the same as the Boating License?
The Nevada Boater Education Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed all of the components of an approved Boating safety course and allows you to go boating. Because the Boating education card or certificate does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not called the Nevada Boating License.
Even if not required by law to get the Nevada boating education card, many boaters take the boat safety course in order to save on their PWC or boat insurance.
Do your part to make boating in Nevada an enjoyable pastime! Become an educated, responsible boater by completing the Boat Nevada course, and practice what you learn.
For visiting boaters, all states, territories, and provinces will recognize boating education cards that meet NASBLA requirements and Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards that meet Transport Canada’s requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)
Need help? Here are the answers to the questions Nevada Boating students most frequently ask.Frequently Asked Questions