South Dakota Boating Laws and Regulations
Age and Operator Restrictions
No person under 12 years of age may operate a motorboat propelled by a motor of more than 6 hp unless there is a person 18 years of age or older on board the motorboat.
No person under the age of 14 may operate a personal watercraft, regardless of horsepower, unless there is a person 18 years of age or older on board the PWC.
South Dakota law enforcement officers patrol the waterways to make your boating experience safe and pleasant. Cooperate with them by following the laws and guidelines.
Carry the Card: Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Education Card must carry the card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by an enforcement officer.
Penalty: Not carrying your Boater Education Card when one is required can result in a fine.
For visiting boaters, all states, territories, and provinces will recognize boating education cards that meet NASBLA requirements and Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards that meet Transport Canada’s requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)
Get Certified Online!
Take this South Dakota–approved course to complete your online boating safety education. Boat-ed.com is a delegated provider for the South Dakota Department of Game, Fish and Parks.Lifetime Card
unlimited exam attempts
We’re people, not robots.
Your Boat Ed course comes with a dedicated customer service team made up of real people, not robots. We’re here to provide assistance to you through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
We’re available to help you:
9:00am to Midnight EST, seven days a week.
1-800-830-2268 (toll free)